Another Year Another Open…

The 28th US Open crowd loves free t-shirts and rides 4 Kevin….

The event of events in the world of shred took place this weekend and by now anyone that cares has already seen, heard and talked through all the highlights and low lights of another Open. It was sunny and sick and people could actually land their best runs in a quickly but classically deteriorating pipe. Kelly made history with a 4th US Open title and Louie, I-pod and Kazu continued to push the level of double corks up up and away….all amazing stuff. Louie getting some Frends love after his run…

For me, this years US Open marked a first in my career….I sat this one out, I was a spectator for the first time in my 21 years of shred. 20 years is a long ass time to do anything and of course over the course of two decades things are bound to change, which generally I think is a good thing, I mean this sport is always priding itself on progression and forward movement which of course is change but after this weekend I definitely had a “you’ve changed” kind of break up moment with the spirit of the US Open. Maybe it’s the pressure of the Olympic season and the jam-packed uber demanding schedules our modern-day pro shredders are locked into but I just kind of felt like this years Open was just another contest on the list, another way to cash in and move on.the boys celebrate another open podium..

The Open used to be an event that no one missed and that rain or shine or a vermonting wintry mix people wanted to be a part of. More of a party than a contest, a celebration of a years worth of snowboarding and a bench mark to see how far we’ve come. This year, we’ve come a long way with the whole double cork movement and 1080 attempts by the ladies but well, it was….different, it felt less about snowboarding and more about winning. With Shaun dropping out due to exhaustion and some of our marquee women opting out this year it just seemed like the Open was just another contest, something that could be missed.

Scotty Lago kills it for a golf clap sorta crowd….

Even the crowd seemed watered down, they came out in the droves alright, but I stood on the sidelines for a while and watched impressive double corks and huge airs go down and there was barely a woo in the house. The Open sideline dwellers used to be in your face loud with costumes and posters and personality, albeit a little too drunk and a little too rowdy at times but this year we had corporate sponsors handing out picket posters but in a “not too many in one area, we need to spread these out for TV” kinda way. Maybe I’m being too harsh I mean it’s hard to get into it when the deck of the pipe is covered with yellow jacket security guards telling you to keep your hands from covering the sponsor logo. How is one supposed to bang the banners in support of good shredding when some douche bag in a yellow jacket is staring you down? And for that matter how is anyone supposed to poach the pipe? They had “poachers” being sent from the top, but tell me this, how can you be a poacher if someone with a radio strapped to their chest is telling you it’s okay to drop? Maybe this whole rant is more of a “it’s not you it’s me” scenario but, like my last boyfriend I’m gonna hang on to this train wreck for another five years just because we’ve been together so long and have a history and just maybe it will be what it used to be and all that….

Kelly and Ellery Cheers another US Open podium….so stoked for them.

As usual I’ve said too much but here are some of my favorite moments from this years shin dig..Jack Mitrani bringing back some spirit with his sticker jobby….

I went to the US Open and all I got was a Louie Vito autograph mustache….pretty sweet.

Vermont and it’s red flannels…

the ladies…..Kelly, Maddy, Kaitlyn, Kelly, Ellery, Me and Gills

see ya next year xoxo


6 thoughts on “Another Year Another Open…

  1. saw you at the open and wanted to let you know that you are one of my favorite people i follow on twitter. i also see myself in one of the pictures, i was one of the girls with the happy birthday louie vito signs. keep up the good work! i love reading your stuff!

  2. Maybe this whole rant is more of a “it’s not you it’s me” scenario but, like my last boyfriend I’m gonna hang on to this train wreck for another five years just because we’ve been together so long and have a history and just maybe it will be what it used to be and all that….

    I love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

